Contact Us | 02-9993-0312 |

Stories of #GoodChange

January 2024

Welcome, Neighbour: 5 Key Facts You Need to Know About Australia

Map of Australia - Key Facts about Australia | Welcome, Neighbours website

Welcome to Australia! If you’ve just landed Down Under, congratulations on embarking on this exciting new chapter of your life. To ensure a smooth transition, why not arm yourself with some  key facts, find out about essential services, and learn about supports that will help you settle into your new home. 

For this month’s blog, here’s a few facts to get you started, gleaned from our new website “Welcome, Neighbour.”

Welcome to Australia!

Bondi Icebergs

Geographical Overview

Australia comprises six states and two territories: New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia. The internal territories are the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

Cultural Diversity

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are the traditional custodians of the land. Australia boasts a rich tapestry of languages, cultures, and traditions, contributing to its diverse environment, economic landscape, and cultural heritage. Other than English, the top languages spoken at home are Mandarin, Arabic, Vietnamese, and Cantonese, reflecting the multicultural fabric of the country.


Every state and territory in Australia has three levels of government besides the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), which is governed by the legislative assembly: federal government, state/territory government and local government.


Australia is located in the southern hemisphere, hence Summer commences from December until February, Autumn from March-May, Winter from June-August and Spring from September-November.


Australia is split into three different time zones: Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), Australian Central Standard Time (AECT) and Australian Western Standard Time (AWST).  During the warmer seasons however, Daylight Savings Time (DST) is practised starting on the first Sunday of October and ends on the first Sunday of April. This practice is observed in New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and Australian Capital Territory.

"Welcome, Neighbour" Website

Myanmar Website Homepage available in Burmese, Karen and English languages | Wwlcome Neighbours

“Welcome, Neighbours” Website

For comprehensive information on settling into life in Australia, explore the “Welcome, Neighbour” website by Good Neighbours Australia. This resource, with funding provided by the NSW Government, offers practical advice for new migrants. The website is not only in English but is also translated into Burmese and Karen, thanks to the support of the Australia-Burma Community Development Network. 

Visit to access this valuable resource and enhance your understanding of life in Australia.